1978 State Champion Men's Swim Team

The 1978 Men's Swimming Team were looking forward to their season as they had finished runner-up the year before at the State Meet. A majority of the swimmers and divers were returning so things looked promising for the Tornadoes.

The team went undefeated for the season with a dual meet record of 10-0. During the season they won the prestigious Atlantic Seaboard Invitational at East Carolina University, then went on to win the Pinellas Count Conference Championship and the District Championship.

The team was surprised when Coach Prokes arranged to fly the team from Tampa to Ft. Lauderdale for the meet. The State Meet was at Fort Lauderdale's Swimming Hall of Fame pool. The team won the Florida State Swimming Championship becoming the first Pinellas County team in thirty-eight years to win the title. In doing so, they defeated the defending State Champs Fort Lauderdale Nova. The Tornadoes had four All Americans, won one relay, one individual title and set four school records.

The Men's Swim team and their coaches are honored to represent the only Tornado State Champion Swim Team inducted into the Tornado Athletic Hall of Fame.

1978 State Champion Mens Swimming Team

Team Members

Coach Don Prokes

Asst. Coach John Tsacrios

Mike Dean Co Captain

Mark Lynch Co Captain

Scott Anderson

Kevin Becker

Boyd Crisler

Mark Hopen

Chip Johnson

David Kinne

Marc Mulbarger

John Newitt

Glenn Osborne

Ben Schimer

Doug Soltis

Ray Soltis

Brad Uline

David Womack